Labour Party submits petition to contest Tinubu’s election win

Labour Party submits petition to contest Tinubu’s election win
Labour Party submits petition to contest Tinubu’s election win

The All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate Bola Tinubu was declared the victor of the presidential election, but the Labour Party (LP) has petitioned the Election Petition Tribunal in Abuja to challenge this decision.


President-elect Tinubu, Senator Kashim Shettima, the APC, and the Independent National Electoral Commission are the petition’s respondents (INEC).

After receiving 8,794,726 votes, Tinubu was proclaimed the winner of the 2023 presidential election.

With 6,984,520 votes, Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) came in second, and Obi was third with 6,101,533 votes.

Nonetheless, some of the parties have since contested the presidential election results.

According to the petitioners, Tinubu was not legitimately elected by a majority of the valid votes cast in the election. They are requesting that the tribunal rule as such.

They are asking for a court order compelling INEC to give Obi a new certificate of return in place of the one given to Tinubu, the APC candidate.

They claimed that the former governor of Lagos State was ineligible to run for office at the time of the election.
Additionally, they claimed that the election was unconstitutional owing to fraud and a violation of the Electoral Act of 2022.

Also Read: Adamawa, Abia, and Enugu protests as INEC suspends election results

Obi asked the tribunal to rule that the election be declared null and void and order INEC to hold a new election in which Tinubu, Shettima, and the APC will not run.

Atiku, the PDP contender, is anticipated to submit his own petition before the deadline expires at midnight.

  Check Dollar (USD) To Naira Black Market Exchange Rate Today

Do you find Six9ja useful? Click here to give us five stars rating!


Join the Discussion

No one has commented yet. Be the first!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *